Ind vs NZ: Virat Kohli becomes first batter to score 50 ODI centuries

Ind vs NZ: Virat Kohli becomes first batter to score 50 ODI centuries

Taking on New Zealand in the first semifinal of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 in Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday, Virat Kohli broke two iconic records held by Sachin Tendulkar. Shortly after becoming the highest scorer in a single edition of a World Cup, surpassing Sachin Tendulkar's tally of 673 runs in 2003, Virat Kohli also made his 50th ODI century -- becoming the first batter to do so.

Master Blaster Tendulkar was in attendance in Wankhade as Kohli went on to break his record. Seated alongside BCCI secretary Jay Shah, the iconic batter gave Kohli and standing ovation. Kohli reached the landmark when he worked Kiwis pacer Lockie Ferguson to square leg for a double, moving from 98 to 100. After scampering for two runs off fast bowler Lockie Ferguson to get to his mark, Kohli took off his helmet and bowed to the stands where television cameras showed Tendulkar and former England football captain David Beckham standing and clapping in appreciation.

India vs NZ semifinal: As it happened in first innings

India's Virat Kohli struck a record 50th hundred in one-dayers to power the unbeaten hosts to 397 for four wickets against New Zealand in the World Cup semi-final at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday.

The 35-year-old Kohli hit nine fours and two sixes before holing out in the deep off fast bowler Tim Southee, who took three wickets for 100.

Shreyas Iyer's blistering 105, which came off just 70 balls and was studded with four fours and eight sixes, provided the late fireworks for India's innings. 

India captain Rohit Sharma, who made 47, won the toss and decided to bat and gave the hosts a rollicking start with a 71-run opening stand with Shubman Gill. But Gill retired hurt due to leg cramps but returned later to bat again, remaining unbeaten on 80.

The venue, where India won their last 50-overs World Cup title, has hosted four day-night contests so far at this tournament with three of those being won by the team batting first. Australia were the only team to win batting second at the ground after Glenn Maxwell hit an unbeaten double hundred.


About The Author

Aryan Age Editor Picture

Aryan Age Editor 

Post Comment

Comment List



Latest News